new running skirt!

September 1, 2009 at 9:44 pm 1 comment

I recently purchased this running skirt from athleta.com. I’ve been eyeing it for a while since it has the capris under it for more coverage and no worries of chaffing. Since I have a couple half marathons coming up (Disneyland half this coming weekend!) I wanted to be sure to test it out in a jiffy. I normally wouldn’t pick a long run for testing out new gear, but was too eager and hoping for the best. Sunday I had a 10 miler planned and attire included the running skirt.

I really like this skirt! I guess its really capris, but still. I would make a couple tweaks such as a wider waist band and move the pocket to the front. For whatever reason, I thought the pocket was in the front from the pictures (I obviously didn’t pay too close attention to the description!) and I found that reaching for the pocket, I couldn’t find it easily. But, I also didn’t have anything in it at the time, I just wanted to see how easily it was to reach.

So, the Disneyland half marathon is this coming Sunday. I’m exciting since it’ll be my second half and I definitely feel like a stronger runner, but nervous because i’ve been having knee pain. More soreness than strong pain, but its there! It has generally been occurring during and after runs that are 8 to 9 miles or longer. I need to make a priority to build the muscles around my knees, but I also need to be sure to listen to my body during the race and remind myself that there’s nothing wrong with walking! I always tell people that if your body is telling you to walk, then walk, but I always feel like if I’m going to run a half (or any distance race) then I need to run every step. I need to get out of that! So, we’ll see how it goes. I’m running another half in October, so I don’t want to injure myself this weekend.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

i live at camp disneyland half

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages


