running skirt

June 25, 2009 at 9:13 pm Leave a comment

I did my first run this morning in a running skirt! This is the one I got at Target. I’ve seen a few girls at races and such wearing them and thought they were super cute but wasn’t sure how I’d feel running in a skirt I wanted to get a less expensive one to try out. I have to admit, I felt pretty damn cute in it! In the spirit of the flirty skirt, i wore a matching red top to match my shoes. I got the skirt in a medium and it was big around my waist but I felt the shorts underneath fit my thighs well. I was a little worried about it the skirt falling during the run, but it wasn’t an issue at all. HOWEVER, those shorts road up my thighs so bad! The plan for this mornings run was 5 miles and was accomplished (which since I was wearing new gear I should have considered saving that for a shorter run, but I was feeling risky), but I swear at some points that I would spark a fire between my legs as I’m blessed with inner thighs that touch, haha. In the end the chaffing was minimal but I ma have lost my cuteness factor when I was lifting the skirt to try to pull down the shorts…or if someone saw and thought I was giving out free shows…awkward.

I did notice that the shorts mainly went north when I was running hills, so maybe this particular skirt would be better on a flat run. I think I might just keep looking for a better quality skirt  (no offense C9, I actually have a lot of your products and like them) with shorts that stay put and use this one for leisurely sporting activities. 

I joined the bandwagon and order some Amazing Grass that came in yesterday. I got a the sample packet combo and also a small tub of wheat grass and amazing superfood to try out. This morning I added a scoop of wheat grass to my smoothie (i love smoothies after a good workout, so refreshing and since my body doesn’t have to work to break down foods and digest them, it can get nutrients asap) and you can definitely taste it! It’s not a bad taste, but by the end I was a little overwhelmed with it. I made Josh a smoothie too but only added a half scoop to his and it wasn’t as strong at all. I think I’ll try that next time.

Our smoothie mixes this morning included:

  • 1 banana
  • handful frozen mango
  • 1/4 c. blueberries (to give that lovely green-gray color)
  • 1/2 c plain almond milk (regular skim milk for Josh)
  • Scoop of almond butter (peanut butter for Josh)
  • small handful spinach (since adding wheatgrass)
  • 1 scoop wheatgrass (1/2 for Josh)

I did notice this morning that I didn’t get the mid-morning droopy eye effect that I usually get. Since I’m generally up so early and working out, usually around 11:00 I start feeling a little bleh (which I also think is from weaning myself off coffee…1 month strong without the drip!) and I really didn’t start feeling hungry until 12…when usually I start dreaming of food by 10:30. Are all the claims true?!?! We shall see!

For lunch I had a sweet potato on spinach leaves with a generous dollop of mediterranean hummus from Trader Joe’s (one of my fav hummus’s) plus a side of water, plus a square of a peanut butter choco chip bar. Yummers! I wanted to start taking photos of my food, but I forgot the camera this morning. I brought one of the chocolate Amazing Grass packets to work today so if I’m feeling in need of a pick me up I’ll give it a try. 

Tonight’s plan: Sushi making class! Can’t wait! 

Trash TV to DVR tonight: Real Housewives of New Jersey Reunion, part 2

Yay for Thursday!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sister, Sister awkward

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages


